JUNKe Life


Users’ Rights! Right on!
October 30, 2009, 12:07 am
Filed under: Drug Politics, Good Stuff

users rights peoples struggle

Russell Newcombe, a researcher with the Lifeline Project in the U.K., presented a paper entitled “Details of 10 Specific Rights on Drug Users” at at the 7 th International Conference on Diversity in Communities, Organizations and Nations (website) in Amsterdam in July 2007.

Since being reprinted and passed around, discussed and debated, Newcombe’s paper has come to be regarded at the Drug Users’ Charter of Rights (link). This Charter begins by stating:

Drug users have the three general rights to (a) consume drugs, (b) receive help for drug problems, and (c) be subject to fair drug laws and policies.

The Charter then elaborates 10 specific rights arising from those three general rights. All in all, the rights are really right on. And they comprise a great launching point for a serious discussion of the place of drug users, as a group within society inclusively. In fact, the Charter concludes with a right regarding inclusiveness:

Drug users have the right to equal opportunities with regard to the institutions and organizations of society – including work, education, housing, finances, driving, travel, parenting, leisure, health services and criminal justice. This means that people should never be treated differently from other people just because they are known to use drugs, nor should sub-groups of drug users be treated differently from each other.

Download the Charter of Drug Users’ Rights document here


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A+ Also say you like halflife and DOD. Steam has all kinds of really neat games they also have a new source engine. Steampowered.com

Comment by Benji

Indeed Benji – Steam is an excellent game delivery system and it certainly offers oddles of games. Sometimes it offers really good deals. Valve has certainly come a long way since it released the original Half-Life game eleven years ago… too say the least.

I used to be a total computer snob when it came to gaming. It was keypad and mouse all the way, and of course, a good ol’ uber graphic card to keep that frame rate a buzzing. Gawd, what a cash cow that can be for the video card industry.

Recently we got ourselves a PS3 (that’s PlayStation 2 for you noobs out there) and I gotta say it is a great console. Now its just $299 and worth every penny, imho. Hey, for its Blu-ray player alone its not a bad deal. As Sony advertises: “it only does everything”. A PS3 is a must if for no other reason that one can play Uncharted 2. What an excellent game. I mean EXCELLENT! For a reveiw that declares Uncharted 2 the “best single player experience ever” check out this review. And I’m saving my bucks for Assassin’s Creed 2 and Modern Warfare 2. Hell, I won’t be able to afford my habit if I get any more addicted to my PS3 gaming… LOL Actually, sad, scary, and all too true.

Comment by opiAted

I am also a hardcore gamer. I own a Xbox 360, PS3, PSP and a pretty badass PC rig (dual vid cards! WOOT!)
I have to say that all I ever use my PS3 for is Blu-ray movies. My PC is king for gaming and the 360 comes in second. Try as I might I just prefer Keyboard/mouse for my games.
I highly recommend you check out Battlefield:Bad company 2 when it comes out. If you like COD:modern warfare you will love BF:BC2.

There is nothing like a day of good gaming in a plesant fog.

Game on brothers and sisters!

K.Killer

Comment by K. Killer

This is a great site that you have here. I have a site myself that provides inspiration and guidance to people all around the world. I was wondering if we could exchange links to spread some traffic around.

Let me know if this is possible.

Jason

Comment by Jason




Leave a Reply

